Are spikes of 500ms+ MaxRowReadLatency normal?

Hi all. I’m new to FoundationDB, and have been trying to get a feel for what it is capable of.

I’ve set up a test environment which is doing about 1k reads/0.5k writes/s, running in ‘double ssd’ mode across 3 bare metal machines. Each machine is running 3 storage processes, and 1 log process, and each process has its own SSD. There’s a separate proxy process, and a separate stateless process on each machine.

I have enabled the trace file in the little client I’ve written using the Rust bindings. Latency98 seems to hover around the 20ms mark, but MaxRowReadLatency seems to jump around - sometimes <20ms, sometimes 500ms, occasionally exceeding a second. Over the course of around an hour, I see bucket counts like this:

<10ms: 544
<25ms: 280
<100ms: 0
<400ms: 8
<800ms: 60
800ms+: 2

I’m just wondering if that sort of maximum latency is normal, or whether it might be indicative of a problem somewhere?

Even your lower latency figures are way too high. I’d expect a p99 for a single row read to be <2ms on bare metal.

Be mindful that FDB runs a single network thread per process. If you’re using multiple threads in your rust client, and running only one process, the latency that you’re observing is probably that of saturating the network thread and not your FDB cluster. top should suffice to check for this.

Otherwise, I’m struggling to think of what could have been easily misconfigured that would result in a high MaxRowReadLatency. It’s thus probably time to start posting pastebins of your fdbcli> status json and client+server tracelogs to see if we can magic out what’s gone wrong.

Thanks Alex, that’s good to know. I suspect the issue may lie in me having used .wait() to block until a key value is returned, so I’ll start by rewriting that code and/or doing another test in Go to see how things go.