How to reduce data size?

Say, I have these two tables:

Course{uuid, name, description}
Student{uuid, name, address}

I am new to FDB, so as per my understanding, the design of these two tables in FDB will be as follows

For Course table:

tuple(uuid, "name")
tuple(uuid, "description")

For Student table:

tuple(uuid, "name")
tuple(uuid, "address")

Please correct me if I am wrong in my understanding.

If my understanding is correct, then my question is, what is the way to avoid repeating the value of the uuid in each key of the record? As the uuid is 16 bytes, prepending it to each field of the record increases the size. For few records this may not be a problem, but if there are thousands of record entries, then this adds up very quickly to the overall size of the DB storage. What is a way to reduce the size of the record entry and hence the DB storage space in this case?

FDB doesn’t support tables, it just a key-value store (the tuple layer is shipped with the client, but there’s no obligation to use it).

So if you want to store relational data in FDB you have to come up with a scheme how you want to translate this to keys and values – and there’s many ways of doing this. A simple one would be to use an existing layer (like the record layer). Or you can come up with something yourself.

if you only want to use the tuple layer, you would probably use the uuid as your key and a tuple (name, description) as the value. However, this means you can only query for the uuid. So you’d also need to set up an index. So you might also have a set of kv-pairs for nameuuid. If the name isn’t unique, you’d do something like (name, uuid,)"" and then you can use a range query to find all records of a given name.

You also might want to use the directory layer to efficiently store these things in different subranges so you don’t accidentally interpret a uuid as a name and vice-versa.