Use of finalizers in golang bindings

The golang bindings currently use finalizers to manage native resources. From what I understand, this has some downsides mainly related to the fact that there aren’t strong guarantees around when finalizers will be run. It sounds like one particular issue that may arise is when there is a large quantity of native memory that needs to be freed but an absence of memory pressure in Go. This can result in garbage collection (and the finalizers) not being run, preventing the release of native resources.

The Java bindings have similar concerns, and they address them by providing methods to explicitly close native resources. I’m not an expert with Go, but I’m wondering if we should do the same thing there. Are there any Go users here that have opinions on this?

I don’t see anything wrong with constraining the lifetime of data read from FDB to the scope of the transaction.

This is how many Go KV-stores work. If you want the data outside of the transaction block to stay alive, you copy it. All pointers after commit or abort are invalid.

I don’t think an explicit function to free is that bad either, especially if it is scoped to a transaction and you can just defer it before you run the transaction.

BoltDB (used in etcd)

“Please note that values returned from Get() are only valid while the transaction is open. If you need to use a value outside of the transaction then you must use copy() to copy it to another byte slice.”

GitHub - etcd-io/bbolt: An embedded key/value database for Go.

Badger (used in Dgraph)

“Please note that values returned from Get() are only valid while the transaction is open. If you need to use a value outside of the transaction then you must use copy() to copy it to another byte slice.”

GitHub - dgraph-io/badger: Fast key-value DB in Go.

Presumably the API documentation was copied from BoltDB to Badger given the quote is the same, but I know both are correct respectively.