FoundationDB on NixOS: packaging, notes and questions

Hello *,

First, sorry for the long post in advance. But I’d like to say that, as of yesterday, I’ve added a FoundationDB package to the NixOS Linux distribution, as well as a module for using FoundationDB in a declarative manner on NixOS.[1] I’m a software engineer and NixOS package maintainer, so I figure I’d drop by and announce it and ask some questions concerning packaging for “non-standard” Linux distributions.

I also think NixOS is perhaps the first distro to pick up a working FoundationDB build (made easier for reasons explained below), and I hope this can help other developers get it working where needed, for the time being.

Some background

NixOS is Linux distribution built on a declarative package management. Rather than running sets of commands to bring a system to some state, by modifying the existing state – you write a declaration specifying how you would like your machine to work, which is then realized for you. Multiple system states can co-exist, and you switch between them to go from one to another. The results of this design decision are profound in practice, including atomic system upgrades, transactional system rollbacks, reproducible builds (that properly track dependencies), supporting conflicting/multiple library versions, and more.

This turns out to be extremely useful for FoundationDB which has an… interesting build process, to say the least.

For example, the declarative description of the FoundationDB package for NixOS may end up as a better starting point for building it yourself[2] on foreign systems, vs something like the Docker image, once you learn to read it. In particular, this description: