Getting started with FoundationDB: Single node cluster deployment

I dropped the dependency on the other database to focus on FoundationDB only. What convinced me, is the talk about CouchDB at FoundaionDB summit 2019. IBM via CouchDB is also interested in single machine cluster support and that means that more people will use FoundationDB in that setup.

Spoiler: I am a newbie in big data, database operations, and system administration in general.

So, I put together some code and rented a dedicated server (bare metal). Here is the configuration:

• SSD: RAID 1 with two disks, 300G available space.
  • RAM: 64G
  • CPU: 40 cores (according to htop)

It cost around $250 per month.

I did not benchmark the SSD setup, next install I will need to do that.

I have installed fail2ban and setup iptables with the following program:

#!/bin/sh                                                                                                                                                                                                          
# My system IP/set ip address of server                                                                                                                                                                            
SERVER_IP="116.202.254.220"
# Flushing all rules                                                                                                                                                                                               
iptables -F
iptables -X
# Setting default filter policy                                                                                                                                                                                    
iptables -P INPUT DROP
iptables -P OUTPUT DROP
iptables -P FORWARD DROP