How to Fetch all stored key-values at once

Hi, I’m new to FDB and I have written c client to insert key-value pairs to DB and able to retrieve the values for specific keys.

I have used “fdb_transaction_get_range” but it fetches keys which are similar. if keys are unique, I have to feed each key and get respective value.

But, I’m looking for a way to get all stored key-value pairs at once. Is there a method available in FDB?

Thanks for your help in advance.

I’m not sure I exactly understand the problem you are running into, but let me give you some details about how range reading works and maybe that will help to clear things up.

To answer your primary question, you can use fdb_transaction_get_range to read an arbitrary range with some caveats. The first is that a transaction’s lifetime is limited to 5 seconds, so if your range is too large to be read in that amount of time, you won’t be able to read it all at once. Second, the C API is lower level than what we provide in other bindings, and fdb_transaction_get_range may return early depending on your streaming mode. The expectation is that you will call it again with updated parameters if you need more of the range.

To issue a range read for the entire database, you would read from the empty string "" to \xff like so:

int rowLimit = 1000; // 0 for unlimited
int byteLimit = 100000; // 0 for unlimited; the byte limit may be reduced by the streaming mode
int iteration = 1; // used by FDB_STREAMING_MODE_ITERATOR, see discussion below
fdb_bool_t snapshot = 0;
fdb_bool_t reverse = 0;

FDBFuture* f = fdb_transaction_get_range(tr, FDB_KEYSEL_FIRST_GREATER_OR_EQUAL("", 0), 
                                         FDB_KEYSEL_FIRST_GREATER_OR_EQUAL("\xff", 1), 
                                         rowLimit, byteLimit, FDB_STREAMING_MODE_ITERATOR, 
                                         iteration, snapshot, reverse);