Storage Queue Size

Hi, I am a software engineer for Snowflake Computing working on FoundationDB. My understanding of the calculation of the storage queue size is that it is based on pessimistic estimates. When a mutation is added to a storage server’s mutation log, the size of the storage queue (bytesInput - bytesDurable, as reported to the ratekeeper) is incremented by mvccStorageBytes(m):

static int mvccStorageBytes( MutationRef const& m )
{
    return VersionedMap<KeyRef, ValueOrClearToRef>::overheadPerItem * 2 +
           (MutationRef::OVERHEAD_BYTES + m.param1.size() + m.param2.size()) * 2;
}

This accounts for 8 128-byte PTree nodes being allocated for every mutation. However, this looks to be a worst case scenario, because each PTree insertion does not necessarily require the allocation of 4 128-byte nodes (even though VersionedMap::overheadPerItem == 128*4). Furthermore, applying each mutation sometimes only requires one insertion into the PTree (e.g. in the case of a ClearRange mutation), but the mvccStorageBytes calculation accounts for two insertions.

I ran some tests tracking the number of allocations of PTree nodes in the storage queue under a variety of workloads, and there were significantly fewer allocations than what bytesInput reports. Is this a correct interpretation of how bytesInput is calculated, and if so, would it be safe to change to reporting a more exact storage queue size?

Thank you.

I haven’t looked into the specifics of the mvccStorageBytes accounting, but I can say that bytesInput accounts for the memory used by each mutation as well as some extra overhead per version. It should be possible to make the version overhead relatively insignificant in a test by having each commit contain lots of mutations, but just make sure that you are accounting for that in your tests.