With the Record Layer, does the keyspace path get re-created when app re-starts?

A path has been defined at line 125: https://github.com/FoundationDB/fdb-record-layer/blob/master/examples/src/main/java/com/apple/foundationdb/record/sample/Main.java#L125.

Does this path get re-created each time the app re-starts?

I am not really an expert Java Developer, I am trying to use the record layer in my Clojure project through Java interop. My use-case is that I should be able to create path once, and get the path whenever I need via some method call on some class, because I am not sure of the effects of re-creating path each time I want to access it. I am not able to find any method on any class that can return the path if I supply path structure something like[dir-name sub-dir].

What would be a safe way to do this?

Thanks

Hm, okay, I’m not entirely sure I understand the question fully, but I’ll try my best.

If the question is how expensive it is to create such a path in terms of database operations, I’ve tried to answer that question below.

The KeySpacePath abstraction allows you to map logical structure to physical structure, which is especially useful if you have multiple record stores that you are trying to manage. In the sample app, for example, you could have multiple applications with multiple “environments” (e.g., “prod” or “qa”). The other neat thing is that you can assign your meaningful names (e.g., “prod”) shorter values (e.g., the integer 0) which are more space efficient, and then when paths are logged, the key space path will fill in the logical name for you so you can make sense of the path given.