Scaling down for small data sets

Hello all! I have recently surveyed FoundationDB’s documentation. It seems really impressive! I am now considering it as the future backend for a certain application. This post is a request for comments on how to do a “small setup”.

Our application is an asynchronous key management service. It is fundamentally read-only: in the absolute majority of the time, it just operates with keys. Only a few times per year the user “writes” new keys. The implementation currently offers read-only load balancing. When the time comes to renew keys, the user must manually insert the key in every instance.

I am studying options to evolve this application to allow distributed “writes”. Implementing raft + a cluster protocol is one of our options. Doing something like a FoundationBD layer is another. The data set in this application is infinitesimal for modern standards. Persistence frameworks are tuned to terabytes of data; our application is specialized to secure megabytes of key material.

I have searched this forum for “small setup” and “small memory” but found no discussion on this. Is it possible to scale FoundationDB down? Requiring an additional 4 GB of memory per node will multiply our current memory requirements. I appreciate any hint you may have!

In order to run with lower memory requirements, my advice (not based on experience running in production) would be to set --cache-memory to something lower than the 2GiB default, and use the ssd storage engine.

Some parts of foundationdb use a custom allocator that trades memory usage for speed, so that could be another opportunity to lower memory usage. There’s no supported way to disable “FastAlloc”, so this would currently require building a patched version from source. My guess is no one would be opposed to some kind of knob that disables FastAlloc, but it’s a bit complicated since FastAlloc is used before main is called so our normal knob mechanism wouldn’t work here.